top of page
  • Writer's picturebaticamoomin

Keep your hair on

It's been a while since I felt inspired enough to blog. I've been a bit up and down lately in both mood and pain (mis)management.


It didn't help that one day last week I woke up with a migraine. The full works, vision feeling like a waterfall of blurriness right in front of my face and a spiky pain right behind one of my eyes.

I spoke to my boss who was really understanding and told me to log off and go back to bed, which I did and managed to get rid of the worst of it with sleep and codeine.

Nearly a week later and my head still feels a bit bruised but one day off definitely helped.


I mentioned in a previous post that I was struggling a bit with anxiety as a result of new responsibilities at work. I was starting to do my own head in.

I'm really proud of how I've dealt with it though. I've pro-actively arranged meetings to facilitate communication that I know would help to keep talking through any issues, organising more training for my myself, and just generally refusing to let the anxiety get a firm hold of me.

It's showing results too. The steps I need to take in this new system are feeling much more embedded, rather than this hazy thing I couldn't get a grasp of. I've written my own guide and shared it with colleagues and had some really nice feedback about how much they think it will help them. I also feel pleased that my boss will have seen all this and will hopefully see how well I've dealt with it all since I initially vomited stress at her a few weeks ago.

So that's nice, to not feel like I'm being helplessly dragged around by brain weasels and guilt gremlins.


I'm also pleased with some progress on another matter. I started using a new shampoo and conditioner back in February because I was really unhappy with the perimenopausal hair loss I have been experiencing for a long time.

I had tried various volumising and thickening shampoos in the past but nothing really made much difference.


For the last few months I've been using Watermans Grow Me shampoo and Condition Me conditioner in conjunction with a Biotin supplement.

I'm really pleased with the coverage at the front of my head where it was thinning the most. I've been using the shampoo/conditioner and supplement for a few months now so I think now is a fair time to be able to comment on any difference I've noticed.

The picture on the left was taken a few days ago, the photo on the right is from January.


I'm not expecting a miracle cure but I will take any small improvements I can get.


16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page