top of page
  • Writer's picturebaticamoomin

Pulp Fiction

Since my last post, I got an extension to my doctors note. Just for an additional week. My sleeping still isn't what you would call consistent but I'm sleeping at night more often than not so that is definitely progress. I definitely feel more able when I'm getting more reliable sleep.

I received a call from the hospital a couple of days ago with an appointment for an ultrasound scan, which was today. I knew it made sense for me to have a scan before we do anything else, but scans make me anxious, and not for reasons you might think.


As bizarre as it might sound, it's finding nothing that stresses me out. I had scans prior to both of my laparoscopies and they didn't reveal anything, but my first laparoscopy diagnosed endometriosis and my second with polyps and congested pelvis, so I already know from previous experience that a clear ultrasound scan doesn't mean nothing is there.

Obviously, I wouldn't want it to reveal anything too serious, but the scan showing up something means having something more to work with.


So I went along to my scan this morning with my required full bladder. I've had these scans on a few occasions now so I know what to expect. It started with an external scan of my pelvis. You can imagine how fun that is having pressure exerted when you have a full bladder. After that was done I was sent to empty my bladder ready for the internal scan.


This one involves having a wand like device put up the chute.

After that was done, I was told that my ovaries looked normal and the endometrium looked as it should with a thin lining and my coil is where it should be. I know it's weird to feel a bit disappointed, I really do. I suppose when you've had years of abdominal pain, two laparoscopies and still no change, you start to feel like you're going mad.


It's not the end of the road though. As I've already said, I know the ultrasound doesn't pick up everything. It just means more investigations, I suppose.

I have a follow up remote appointment with the consultant next week to discuss the results. I don't know what will be the next steps obviously, but I hope it doesn't mean another laparoscopy. I've had two in less than a decade so not really keen to have yet another but will have to see what the consultant advises. I can't see a hysterectomy being on the cards with a clear scan, but I don't know what I'm talking about.


Now I feel tired and a bit cranky because I've been awake since 4am and I am feeling very tender and uncomfortable now. I don't think it's normal to be in this much pain after a scan. It's why I'm frustrated and unsurprised by the scan results. Something hurts somewhere for *reasons*

I'm codeined up now, and I still have a week to try to get things back to manageable levels before going back to work next Wednesday. I expect the rest of today will be spent appeasing the beast that is my pelvis, probably with lots of tea.


16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Fog

Jaws

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page