top of page
  • Writer's picturebaticamoomin

I feel so funky

Updated: Oct 5, 2023

If you have been following my blog for a while, you may remember that it has been a bit of a saga getting my Mirena Coil replaced.


I went to get my old one taken out and a new one put in back in February, but after much rummaging the nurse was unable to locate the strings and I had to wait for an appointment for an ultrasound to confirm it was still in place, which took a couple of months to come through.

The ultrasound itself was quite straightforward and it confirmed that the coil was still in situ so I had to rebook my appointment to get it replaced. Which meant I had more gooey rummaging in my future.

I had it done a couple of hours ago. It wasn't the greatest fun, as you can imagine and due to my previous experience, I was a little anxious that something would go wrong and they still wouldn't be able to get it out because my lady parts are evil and hate me.

That part of it was actually fine this time. The doctor who performed the procedure confirmed that the strings had tucked themselves up but she thinks they came down a bit, probably after all the rummaging around from the last time, so it came out easily.

It was putting the new one in where it was a bit problematic.


I knew it wasn't going to be a comfortable, pain-free experience and I had taken some codeine beforehand and I knew the drill. Knees up, legs akimbo.

The insertion was quite painful but the worst of it only lasted a few seconds. It was like a cramping sensation with a sharpness at the worst point.


Unfortunately, the doctor said she had to take it out and try again with a new one as she had tangled the threads.

I had to go through it again, but this time despite my slow breathing to stop from tensing, it hurt a bit more second time around which caught me unawares and no sooner had it gone in, the doctor said my uterus had spat it back out.

Third time lucky, they got another one and it went in and stayed in this time. There was some bleeding so they gave me a pad. By this point, my abdomen and pelvis were very grumpy with me and I was feeling a little faint.

It's done now though and this new coil is good for six years. The doctor was very complimentary about how relaxed I was but she made sure I was okay and she was very apologetic about how it had gone.


Adam was lovely. I let him know I was on my way back and he made me a cup of tea which was waiting for me when I got in, and then I treated myself to another codeine.

Now I have my feet up with Aragorn curled up on my grumpy tummy.


It's receded to a dull ache now and hopefully more tea, cat cuddles, and codeine, will tame the beast.


30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page